The Stereotype

When it comes to the stereotypes

I’m quite defiant.

I play a little ball here and there

But it’s not what I want to spend my life with

And just because i have a knack with words

doesn’t mean I prefer the life of a rap star

Gold in my mouth

Neck and wrists iced out

With pretty women and fancy cars.

You see, I’m also quite good in math

But won’t cut corners

by cutting quarters and selling crack

Like you would expect me to do since my skin color is black

And since I’m black

Don’t expect me to fill another jail cell

Expect me to work towards my highest goal and then excell

And never doubt me when I meet struggle

I don’t need another speech on discrepancy

For I was told that it was only through this

That I shall reach my true destiny

Leave a Reply

